Like many scrapbookers, I’m behind.  I’m working my way through the events of 2002.  My daughter was in the 5th grade at the time and a member of her elementary school’s academic team.  I had collected a couple of pictures as well as some other memorabilia and had plans to do a layout with a background page that was of a school blackboard.

It probably was a good thing that I hadn’t gotten to that page yet because when we were packing for her to leave for college, we found the shirt she wore to academic meets.  Her brother didn’t have any interest in participating in academic team had also already graduated to middle school so giving him the shirt as a hand-me-down didn’t make much sense.  (He wouldn’t have worn it anyway.)  So, what DO you do with an old shirt that really has no meaning to anyone else?

You make it a scrapbook page background!

Photobucket

While I’d love to claim this as my idea, it actually comes from a book I got from the library a couple of years ago.  It was basically the same idea except it featured the shirt of someone’s grandfather.  When I first saw it I thought it was so clever and I kicked myself for not saving one of my Dad’s shirts so I could have done the same thing with one of his pages.  Obviously it made an impression and I still found a way to incorporate it into my scrapbooking!

The red rectangle at the bottom of the page is actually my daughter’s name plate that was used at competitions.  Because it was of her real name, I masked it on the photo before posting.

Comments on: "What Do You Do With An Old Shirt?" (1)

  1. Awesome idea! I have some of my daughters high school shirts as well as one of my dads work shirts that I hung onto after he passed. Thanks Capri for the great idea!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

