Reuse and Recycle!

My son is a “chip off the old block”.  I like to tell everyone that he may look like me but he acts like his Dad.  Quite honestly, that’s not entirely true.  He’s the one of my children who likes to craft and “mess”.  My daughter does from time to time, but not nearly as much as he does.

He’s in middle school now and even though it’s to be expected, his interests have turned more and more towards friends, music, computers and video games.  Our crafting moments are less and less.

Little by little we’ve gone through the massive accumulation of craft supplies and passed them on to younger crafters or I’ve found some other way to use them.  This was the result of paring down a huge box of colored pencils.

Photobucket Photobucket

Photobucket Photobucket

Photobucket Photobucket

My inspiration came from an ad in a scrapbooking magazine.  The hardest part was sharpening the pencils down to all the same length.  But my electric sharpener and I prevailed!  (The cans themselves were recycled items too.)  I hot glued felt to the bottom of the cans and then the pencils around the cans.  Then it was a matter of adding a variety of embellishments — tags, ribbon, brads, silk flowers, etc.

I sold these at a craft show in November.  By the way, the yellow and green one is still available if there are any takers! 😛

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

