I’m Seeing Stars!

These adorable little stars are called “German Stars” or “Moravian Stars” and are typically used as Advent and Christmas decorations.  They are made from strips of paper (not cardstock). 

Photobucket

After watching a Carol Duvall special on HGTV some years back, I spent many hours trying to figure out just how they made these. (This was before the internet.)  Eventually I got it right!  I had pastel colored printer paper and that’s what I used.  The finished star is sometimes dipped in wax.  I used what I had on hand and that was some glittered nail polish.

After Christmas, the stars were just too pretty to put away so I transitioned them to a ficus tree I had in the livingroom at that time.  Because they were pastel, they later found their way to an Easter Tree.

Years ago, we were pretty much limited to whatever printer or copier paper was available.  But today, with ALL the beautiful papers that are out, I’m finding I’ve got an itch to make some more stars! 

Let’s see…  There’s Valentines Day, St. Patricks Day, Easter, 4th of July, Fall, Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years…  Oh the possibilities!

Comments on: "I’m Seeing Stars!" (6)

  1. I saw these a few years back and it sent me spinning through time immediately back to elementary school. What a fantastic memory transport that was. I had totally forgotten about them and then suddenly there I was, six or seven years old again, dipping these into wax and then sprinkling them with glitter. Wonderful memories!

  2. BEFORE THE INTERNET!!!??!! You’re that old??? OMG!!!

  3. Wow I love these!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

