Fronts & Backs

Ever since I started making cards, I have always tried to make something extra special for my Mom’s birthday.  I can’t just send her one of the ones that I already have made up.  She definately deserves a little bit more!

This year I decided to make a card using my “Fronts & Backs” stamps.  This is a series of stamps from Art Impressions.  They are one of my favorite stamp companies.  They also have a line of “Watercolor” stamps that coordinate beautifully.

Photobucket

The trick to getting the fronts and back to line up is to use a tool called a Stamp A Ma Jig.  It’s a nifty little tool that makes it SO much easier to line images up and place them exactly where you want them.

Another trick is to use Post-It note paper to mask off those areas you don’t want to stamp over.  That’s how I was able to place the little girls in front and in back of the fence.

Photobucket

Once I had my main images in place, then I used a water color technique with gamsol to color them in.  Finally, I used my “Watercolor” stamps and colored inks to overstamp to create the tufts of grass and flowering vines and bushes.

A “Fronts & Backs” card is sure to be a hit with its recipient.  Art Impressions has a number of characters and coordinating images to appeal to many tastes.  In addition to the two series I’ve mentioned,  they also have many more stamps — landscapes, whimsical, artsy.  Definately a company to check out!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

