Christmas Past – Part 3

The past two days, I’ve featured handmade Christmas ornaments.  Today’s selection are antique and vintage ornaments that are a special part of our Christmas tree each year.  Stick with me today and tomorrow — I promise I am leading up to an amazing craft project!

Photobucket

The oldest ornaments on my tree are these rather plain silver and green ones.  They were my maternal grandmother’s when she was a little girl.  They are rather heavy and the gold hangers at the top are very intricate.  My grandmother was German and it is possible that these ornaments are even much older and may have come from Germany.

Photobucket

This 24 karat gold miniature chamber pot is a long time family tradition but I don’t know exactly how it originated.  It is always hidden on the inside of the tree.  This one belonged to my maternal grandmother.  “Go Way Back and Sit Down” is enscribed in gold on the side.  My daughter has the one that belonged to my mother.  Hers is enscribed, “The Smallest One”.

Photobucket

I remember this ornament from when I was a little girl as the fanciest one that my maternal grandmother had on her tree. 

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

These plastic diorama ornaments have different origins.  One came from my paternal grandmother and the other came from my husband’s aunt.  The collection of four hung on my tree when I was a little girl.  I clearly remember when my mother picked them out at the grocery store.

Photobucket

What is Christmas without bells?  This one is another ornament from my husband’s aunt.  There were two others which I have shared with my children.

Photobucket

We have several of this style of bell in different colors.  Over the years they have been hung on both my grandmothers’ trees, my parents’ tree and now on mine and my children’s trees.

Photobucket

When I was a little girl, these porcelain bells were some of my favorites.  We had one of those silver Christmas trees that would rotate on its stand.  I would stand next to the tree and ring the bells as they would come around.  My mother still has several of these bells.  Some are shaped like Christmas trees, Santas and boots.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Elves were always a part of our Christmas decor.  These little guys are showing their age but they are still very special.  The sitting elf once adorned a kissing ball that my mother had made with netting and artificial mistletoe.  I can still see it hanging in the doorway between our kitchen and livingroom.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I remember hanging these last few ornaments on our tree when I was a little girl.  At one time there was an entire box of these fancy ornaments.  Each one was different.  Only these three seem to have lasted the test of time.

Comments on: "Christmas Past – Part 3" (2)

  1. I LOVE those vintage ornaments! I am sooooo jealous!

  2. StarryGift | Wedding gifts and collectibles of Chinese and Western styles…

    Nice post. Thanks for sharing….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

