It’s a Guy Thing

Making “guy stuff” is a challenge.  I find myself drawn more to flowers, cute images, elegance, etc. 

Last week at our altered group meeting, Sandy gave each of us a paper mache box with a note pad and pencil.  The challenge was to do something with it. 

My son has been fascinated with notepads ever since he discovered Post-Its when he was about 2 years old.  He’s grown up a bit, but he’s always making notes on pieces of scrap paper while he’s playing games online.  His gaming quickly became the inspiration I needed to decorate the little box.

Photobucket

I googled images from his favorite game and printed them off in various sizes.  I was a bit concerned that the ink might run once I applied Mod Podge so I tested it on an image.  I was relieved to find out that it did not.  I cut out the images and decopaged them randomly over the outside of the box.  While the Mod Podge was still wet, I then spritzed the box with diluted ink solutions containing Pearl Ex in an attempt to give it a shimmer.  The green was a little too bright and intense so after blotting off as much as I could, I followed up with Walnut Ink spray inside and out. 

Photobucket

I placed it on an inverted cup for it to dry, however, a small bump to my table sent it tumbling into some glitter I hadn’t finished cleaning up from another project. 

Note to self:  Clean up after yourself! 

Photobucket

But there are no mistakes!  Just enough glitter had adhered to the box to make it look magical rather than girly.

My son was quite pleased with his new treasure and that’s good enough for me!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

