Ink Or Dye 2011

It’s a new year!  And we’ve revamped our format a bit.  We are still taking turns doing monthly projects but rather that a specific card, we are concentrating on techniques.

In January, Margy showed us how to create some very artsy backgrounds using glossy paper, ink, water and salt.

Photobucket

I must confess, although I made a number of these backgrounds, I’ve yet to transform them into cards.  The card pictured here is Margy’s sample.  I just love it!

This month it was my turn.  I demonstrated a retiform technique.  There are so many possibilities and it has quickly become one of my favorites.  It is also a very quick way to whip out some fabulous cards.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We are still doing our card and ATC exchanges.  January was an open theme. 

Photobucket

My card was created from a copy of an actual photo of my great grandparents dry cleaning delivery truck.

Photobucket

My ATC was inspired from one I found in Jill Haglund’s “Rubber Stamping Artist Trading Cards”.  Albert Einstein is my son’s idol so I couldn’t resist doing this ATC.  Thinking he would be thrilled with my creation, I made an extra one for him as well.  Much to my dismay he wanted to know, “What is this for?”  I told him that my friends and I trade them and they are our version of Pokemon cards.  He has his displayed on the mirror in his room so apparently he did appreciate my efforts!

Photobucket

In our exchange, I received Barb’s card complete with matching bookmark!  She went all out and also included a decorated envelope and labels.

Photobucket

I received Ramona’s ATC.  Inspired by the cold weather we’d been having, hers featured a blue giraffe.

Moving forward, our exchanges will be design challenges.  The project person will bring in a stamp that will be the image we use for our cards and some sort of embellishment that will be used on our ATCs. 

Photobucket

Our image for February was of chickadees perched on a pine branch.

Photobucket

The ATC embellishment was a botanical mulberry paper.

It was so much fun to see what everyone came up with!  Lots of creative ideas!

Photobucket

I colored my image using colored pencils and gamsol.  I also glittered the snow.

Photobucket

I received Margy’s card in the exchange.  She water colored her image and pop dotted the glistening snow.

Photobucket

The botanical paper made me think of spring.  I used it for the background on my ATC and stamped some images on it.

Photobucket

I received Barb’s ATC.  Again this month she made bookmarks.  She also used the paper for her backgrounds but tore it rather than cutting it.

Comments on: "Ink Or Dye 2011" (1)

  1. Can’t believe you got my card and ATC both months so far! I really liked your chicadee card with the popped out snow! Thanks for doing the project on short notice–interesting technique!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

