Pyrography

Photobucket

Pyrography is the art of decorating wood or other materials with burn marks resulting from the controlled application of a heated object.  It is more commonly known as wood burning.  It is one of the activities that is offered each summer at the camp my son attends.  My husband volunteers at that same camp and has taught classes.  He also has served as one of the camp photographers.

Putting both of his talents together, my husband decided to make a plaque of camp memories for my son.  The date is correct.  It was from last year.  He only recently completed the project.  (It’s nice to know I’m not the only one with the tendancy to leave a project hanging!)

The best part about this project was that he joined me in my craft room to do so.  I enjoyed having him for a crafting buddy.  As I watched him work, I began to think about how I might incorporate the wood burning tool into my paper crafting.  I gave him a piece of scrap cardstock and asked him to try to burn the edges.  Much to my delight, the wood burning tool created a burnt edge on the paper.  It was a much safer way to go about creating the look than the lit candle I had been contemplating.  It could also be used to create a burnt image on the surface of the paper.

Add to my list yet another technique for me to play with.  I like that I have found a new use for an old tool!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

