Craft Shows Past

 photo 1016091753_zpsac125da7.jpg

Once upon a time, fall weekends meant craft shows. At least once a month I would pack up the cards and gift items I had created, and with the help of my husband and son, cart them to who knows where in the hopes of scoring some extra cash. Some shows were profitable, others not so much. Still the anticipation that the public might fall in love with my creations was enough to keep me engaged. During this time, my son was my constant companion. He even developed his own line of jewelry that provided him will some extra spending money too.

Then along came high school and marching band and somewhere it became uncool to hang out with Mom doing the craft thing. Now our fall weekends are full with football games, concession stands, practices, and band competitions. I’m not complaining. My son has taught me more about music than I learned in four years of piano lessons. Because of him, I have an appreciation for marching band that I never had before. Music is truly an art form. I am honored to share my time with him. It is a joy and a thrill to watch him perform. More than once he has brought tears to my eyes.

 photo 20693ea0-ebbe-4ff0-bc95-1b59bad20106_zps0e1edcb4.jpg

 photo 8d021183-2bcd-48f8-9b87-1b5a485c941e_zps3349a3b7.jpg

He is so grown up, so talented, and so accomplished. I cherish this phase of his life and know that he has great things ahead of him.

Yet, when I go through old photos, I can’t help but miss that little boy who used share his time with me at my craft shows.

Look carefully behind the table…

 photo 1107091044_zpse8fc4cfb.jpg

What would we have done with out GameBoy when the novelty of making money wore off?

 photo 1107091043_zpsf40e3584.jpg

Nothing like an “I love Mom” fake tattoo!

 photo 1017091424_zpsf555c05e.jpg

We did have a lot of fun together!

 photo 1017091426a_zpsfbe93660.jpg

And I’m going to be in a LOT of trouble for posting these!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

