In my post yesterday, I mentioned that my son had developed his own line of jewelry to sell at craft shows.  It all started with a 4H class when he was 8 or 9 years old.  He had been waiting for years to be old enough to participate after seeing all the amazing things his older sister created when she attended 4H classes.

I was a bit surprised when he selected the jewelry class, but he was excited about it and had a great time.  I was amazed at the earrings he had made.  They looked so professional.  In the next few weeks we made several trips to Hobby Lobby and Michaels to purchase tools and supplies.  At first he was making earrings for his sister and me.  This was a huge bonus for me.  I am allergic to most metals so it was fantastic to have a nice supply of pretty and fun hypoallergenic earrings.

As his sister and I received compliments on our earrings, we all began to see the potential for him to sell his creations.  A friend of mine gave him his first opportunity by displaying his earrings for sale in her small shop.  And then, of course, there were the craft shows.

His first creations were beaded earrings, similar to that very first pair he made at 4H.

 photo IMG_3858_zps3699954a.jpg

He was always on the look out for unique beads and his designs became more sophisticated.  We even came up with a clever logo.

 photo P6102345_zps9ce9785f.jpg

A display by another jewelry vendor at a fair reminded me of a craft I had learned when I was in Girl Scouts. I showed him how to make paper beads and he then turned them into unique earrings. They were super light in weight and people loved them.

 photo DSCF4219_zpsc07c1f0e.jpg

When I discovered some wine corks with designs, I gave him a challenge. He did not disappoint. I get compliments on my wine cork earrings whenever I wear them and he has sold several pairs. They have also made wonderful gifts for my friends who, like me, are wine lovers.

 photo IMG_1005-cropped_zps7c6a14c9.jpg

 photo P3105729_zpsce7fe04d.jpg

Comments on: "My Personal Jewelry Designer" (1)

  1. The wine cork earrings are adorable!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

