Thanksgiving – Doggie Style

It all started at the grocery store.  They were out of small cans of pumpkin.  I only needed 2/3 cup for a recipe I was making.  Hubby did the only thing he could.  He bought the large can.  That left me with the dilemma of what to do with all the pumpkin that was left over.

I googled “pumpkin dog treat recipes”.

I found a simple and easy recipe to which I made some slight modifications.  Here is my version:

3 Ingredient Peanut Butter Pumpkin Homemade Dog Treats

1/2 cup peanut butter
1 cup pumpkin puree
1-3/4 cups whole wheat flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  In a large bowl, stir together peanut butter and pumpkin.  Stir in the flour 1/4 cup at a time.  Roll the dough out to approximately 3/8 inch thick.  Use a cookie cutter to cut out the dough and then place on cookie sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes or until crisp but not browned.  Let cool completely.  Store in an airtight container or freeze.

 photo IMAG1227_zps2212c6a4.jpg

Using my KitchenAid mixer made combining the ingredients super easy.  The mixture rolled out with ease and without any additional flour or mess.  I couldn’t find my dog bone cookie cutter, so I used my cat cookie cutter instead.  The recipe resulted in 38 biscuits.

The real test was to see how well these creations would be received.

 photo 20141128_134506_zps48006189.jpg
“Whatcha got for us?”

 photo 20141128_134515_zpsb96be00a.jpg
Brody says, “Oooh! Oooh! Pick me!”

 photo 20141128_134520_zps8eb90ce0.jpg
Snickerdoodle says, “Don’t forget me!”

 photo 20141128_134545_zpsb07e82da.jpg
“Nom, nom, nom…”

 photo 20141128_134602_zps0b08b8b8.jpg
Snickerdoodle makes sure he gets every crumb.

Yes, the boys have declared these treats a complete success! I’m thrilled, not only because they love them, but because they were so easy to make and so much better for them than store bought!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

