Fall Fun

I saw these cute fall pumpkins made from wine corks and knew at once I needed to add a couple to my fall décor.  They have actually been a couple of weeks in the making as in the process I learned that corks will not absorb pigment ink.

IMG_8080

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsThe ends of the corks are stained with dye ink. I had originally tried pigment ink as I had wanted more vivid color, but after a week, it still wasn’t dry and rubbed right off. So after working to rub off all the ink I had applied the week before, I then had to reapply the color using the dye ink. Much better results! I free handed the leaf pattern and then cut leaves from felt. The twine is wrapped around the stem three times and then tied in the middle.

IMG_8079//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

They are just perfect on the shelf with some of my favorite wine bottles!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

