School Days

With my son graduating high school in the spring, I am on a mission to finish as many of his scrapbook pages as possible.  It’s quite the daunting task.  We have thousands of digital photos.  I was originally going chronologically, but I was only up to 2003.  If I continued on that path, it wasn’t very likely that I’d get to any of his middle school pages let along his high school pages.

I decided to work backwards, starting with more recent events.  While sorting through my scrapbook papers to set aside all the royal blues and reds for marching band pages, I ran across the ones I had collected for school photos.  In our family it is tradition each year to photograph the first day of school.  It was a lot of fun to collect those photos and put them side by side to see the transformation from little boy to young man.  I also made some fun discoveries.

Here are the pages I’ve completed so far:

.

.

I never noticed until now that I picked out the same shirt for him to wear for school pictures both years. I was happy that I had saved his IDs. He only grew three inches and only gained three pounds in a year. No wonder that shirt still fit!

.

.

.

First Day of School pages for First, Second, and Third/Fourth Grade. He was quite the ham.

.

.

.

First Day of School pages for Seventh and Eighth Grade and Freshman year. By this time he was picking out what he wanted to wear himself. Again, I didn’t realize until now that he wore that same t-shirt for the first day of school three years in a row. It’s pretty clear that it was one of his favorites.

.

.

.

By Sophomore year, he was slightly less than amused with his Paparazzi Mom.  I still continued taking pictures.  I warned him that resistance was futile and the photos would be made public.  Junior year includes the infamous “I’m Not Going to Cooperate” pose (top right corner).  I reminded him he might as well submit because I was going to continue to take pictures until I got a good one.  Senior year shows that with age comes wisdom.  My handsome, much more mature looking son cooperated right away with a dashing smile (and a new favorite t-shirt).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

