Archive for April 5, 2016

I’m Ready for Garage Sale Season

It’s April and spring is here!  Well at least it is supposed to be here.  I’ve started watching the paper again for garage sales.  I credit my great aunt for introducing me to them when I was a kid.  My husband’s Mom was an avid garage saler, always on the search for treasures she could turn into cash on eBay.  I guess you could say it runs in the family.  I’m blessed as my husband enjoys them as much as I do.  Garage saling is definitely one of our favorite Saturday morning activities.

Over the years, I’ve decorated my house, clothed my children, and supplied my Girl Scout Troop with my finds.  My interests and hobbies have changed, but garage sales still serve to provide me with treasures.  These days I find myself searching for wine themed decor, genealogy related materials, vintage items, and of course, craft supplies.

One of the best things about garage sales (and thrift shops) is that you never know what you’re going to find.  Some days it is a bust.  But other days, oh my!

I recently ran across a number of photos from successful hunts at garage sales past.

DSCF4195

P8134837

P7164633

P1030775

P7234657

DSCF4131DSCF4130

P8134836

DSCF4114

DSCF4118

P6262437

P5290293

From books to organizational tools, from supplies to rubber stamps, you name it, it’s out there.  And at a fraction of the cost of new.  I don’t always end up loving each purchase.  Sometimes an item doesn’t work out as I’ve imagined.  The prices make it very affordable to pass things on to friends, donate them to charity, or even recycle in a garage sale of my own.

Which, by the way, I’ve been sorting through my craft room.  Stay tuned for my upcoming crafty garage sale!