Making Progress

As my son’s senior year began, the plan was to do my best to catch up on all his pages.  Then reality set in and I determined it best to concentrate on his high school years.  Then that got narrowed down to just band.  My original intent was to do a single album for all four years in band.

Then I started sifting through the band photos.

As the official band photographers, over the four years my husband and I took thousands of photos.  I am not exaggerating.  While it was easy to eliminate the photos he wasn’t in, I was still left with hundreds of photos of my favorite trombone player.

You would think that all band events pretty much look the same.  At least that is what I was thinking when I started on the process.  Not so.  After two rounds of eliminations, I still ended up printing over 300 photos.  For senior year alone.

I resigned myself to the fact that there mostly likely would be an album for each year.  Band was a huge part of his life, and of ours.  He wasn’t interested in school dances and social events like his sister was, so this was really his thing.  An album a year is quite all right.

2016-05-16_12-11-12

2016-05-16_12-11-03

2016-05-16_12-10-33

2016-05-16_12-10-43

I started with the easy stuff – the formal portraits.  I’d happened upon some fabulous red glittered card stock while garage saling last summer.  It was perfect for showcasing these photos.  The pictures really do not do these pages justice.  I was so pleased with how they turned out.

2016-05-16_12-09-44

2016-05-16_12-10-21

2016-05-16_12-10-11

2016-05-16_12-09-55

Next, I moved on to the band camp portraits featuring each year’s show theme.  Much of the coordinating embellishments were a result of Google searches for royalty free images.

2016-05-16_12-05-36

Before putting my concentration on the senior year events, I had to be sure I completed the page of my son’s initial uniform fitting. As a freshman he was concerned about fitting in and not coming off as some little kid. He was embarrassed and annoyed with his Paparazzi Parents who dared to show up for this occasion and take pictures. It was still a great moment and you can tell by the expression on his face how pleased and proud he was of himself in his uniform.

2016-05-16_12-11-57

2016-05-16_12-11-48

2016-05-16_12-11-39

2016-05-16_12-11-29

On to the first football game of the 2015 season. Having been sensitive to my son’s embarrassment of having parents the previous three years, I felt it was way past time for me to sport a t-shirt with a sentiment I fell in love with early on. The “Shame” photo was staged by my husband and I love how my son is attempting to look disgusted yet is smirking the entire time. Senior year was finally when he began to publicly acknowledge us again and also cooperate in photos.

This layout was only supposed to be two pages, but I miscalculated with the number of photos. I wonder how many more I have done that with? There are so many good photos this year. It’s actually surprising that I ended up with only 300.

Stay tuned for more updates!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

