IMG_0597

Having been bitten by the painting bug, I knew I had to try my hand at it again. Of course I needed an easel of my very own.

When we redid my son’s room in his favorite colors of grey, red, and black, we talked about doing some custom artwork for his walls. I’d acquired a nice sized canvas for a steal at a thrift shop but I’m sad to say, it sat untouched for quite sometime as we weren’t quite sure what to do with it. More recently, I found another. It was huge. At least 4 foot by 4 foot. The original plan was to paint over it but after a few days of looking at it, my son determined he really liked the bamboo and wondered if we could just redo the background. The original was done in tans and blues and while I liked that idea I wasn’t sure we could make it look right by just painting around the bamboo. Plus, there was some damage to the edges of painting that needed sprucing up.

IMG_0596

I gessoed over the original in order to create a base coat. I had the foresight to trace over the bamboo onto tissue paper before starting in on painting. I’m glad I did because once I painted the background, any guidelines I might have had were gone.

IMG_0599

Using techniques I learned from the painting class I took with my daughter in March, I painted the background blending white, grey, and black paints to create a number of shades.

IMG_0602

Then it was time to add some color.

IMG_0604

I blended the red with black to create the darker shades. This technique of adding random squares of the various colors is so simple and so much fun.

IMG_0618

Then it was time to use the patterns I had traced earlier to add back the bamboo. My original plan was to do them off center much like the original, but then I got another idea.

IMG_0684

My son approved and so I split the bamboo to create more of a curtain type effect and added a small sailboat. Once again, Googling images saves the day and provided me with the perfect pattern.

The second, smaller painting was done similarly to coordinate.

IMG_0601

IMG_0603

IMG_0605

IMG_0617

IMAG3061

IMG_0683

The inspiration for the artwork came from yet another Google image search.

“Mom’s talented,” was my son’s response when he saw the completed artwork. Coming from a 16 year old boy, that’s a pretty hearty endorsement!

They really do look nice on his walls and give his room the finished look it had been missing.

I’m no Rembrandt, but I have discovered a talent I didn’t know I had. I’m also finding painting to be so relaxing and enjoyable. Canvases are relatively inexpensive and easy to come by. Now I just need to find more walls to hang them on!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

