Refinished Desk

2016-06-21_11-17-29

After four years of college and nearly two years of internships, when my daughter finally moved to a place of her very own, she left me with a room of my very own.  Little by little over the past year, I have turned it into my Genealogy Library and Museum.  It still doubles as a guest room, but it has become my own little retreat.

After filling it with shelves and modular storage, there was a small space left for a desk.  I had been shopping locally and online for one, but hadn’t yet found one I was ready to select.

Before 032115

And then my husband found this diamond in the rough while we were shopping in one of our local thrift shops.  It lived in my garage for months, waiting for the right weather to allow for its make over.  First it was too hot, then it was too cold.  When spring rolled around again, I knew I really wanted to get at it.

enamel_can

During a trip to Lowes when my daughter was moving, she and I discovered this innovative paint on an end-cap display.  The most attractive thing about it was that it said it did not require sanding or priming.  That would mean for a speedy project right?

My birthday is in the spring and when my husband asked me what I wanted, I joked, “I want my desk finished.”  I really had intended to complete this project myself, but he took my words and ran with them.  Working second shift and getting home in the wee hours of the morning, this was just the right thing for him to quietly work on and not disturb those of us who were sound asleep.

It took nearly two months, and while he didn’t have it done by my birthday, it was in place in my room before the end of my birthday month.  I didn’t mind.  He was so meticulous and he took extra efforts to make sure every inch of the makeover was perfect.  And secretly I was relieved that I didn’t have to do it.

As far as this miracle paint went, it was not quite as fantastic as we thought it was going to be.  My husband had remarked that while he liked the paint and would use it again, he thought sanding and primer would have aided an easier application and finish.  It took two coats and in some areas three.  But it came out beautifully and I am beyond thrilled with it.  I now have a place where I can set up a laptop and my scanner as well as make progress with my research and filing.

2016-06-21_11-17-16

And just so you can see my fantastic oasis, here are some photos of the entire room.

2016-06-27_11-07-30

2016-06-27_11-06-16

2016-06-27_11-06-38

I just love it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

