Printer Tray Project

20160624_001150

With my Great Wall of Ancestors completed, my attention turned to the space above my newly refinished desk.  A few weeks earlier, I had rediscovered my 7 Gypsies Printers Tray.

7gypsiesprintertray

A Christmas gift from my husband a few years earlier, I had put it aside until I could decide exactly what I wanted to do with it.  Then it got buried in my craft room and I had completely forgotten about it.  Upon rediscovering it, I knew it would be perfect above my desk.

The next challenge was figuring out how to decorate it.  Selecting the photos was easy as I had some recent ones of our family in mind.  With Microsoft Photo Gallery, I changed the color photos to sepia tones.  In keeping with the family history theme of the room, I sorted through the various quotes I had collected and searched the internet for more.  I used Microsoft Photo Gallery again, to convert the graphics I had downloaded to either sepia or aqua tones to coordinate with the color scheme of the room.  The addition of a few vintage looking graphics finished off the twelve different images I needed.  I found some coordinating scrapbook papers and used mats and foam tape to create some dimension.  Once everything was in place, I sorted through all the mixed media items I had collected, arranging and rearranging the three dimensional pieces to accent my images.  A bit of hot glue, and my project was finished.

20160624_001228

Here it is, at last hung in place.   I am so happy with how it turned out!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

