Wine Cork Ornaments

I needed to come up with two wine themed ornaments for a holiday party we were attending.  One for the hostess and one for the ornament exchange.

A quick Google search yielded the perfect idea.  Wine cork snowflakes!  And I had all the materials on hand.  The original idea used satin ribbon, but I liked the look of the sheer ribbon much better.

20161203_133743

I cut the corks in half and then painted tacky glue on the uncut ends and dipped them in iridescent glitter.  Once they were dry, I hot glued them together.  The ribbon going around the outside was cut to 21 inches.  I used a dab of hot glue on the bottom to hold the ribbon in place while I tied it around the outside of the corks and knotted it at both the top of the corks and at the very end creating the hanger for the ornament.  A second length of ribbon was tied in a bow over the first knot.  The finishing touch was to hot glue the silver plastic snow flakes in place.

20161203_134325

I was thrilled with how they came out!  I made two more.  One for me and one for my daughter.  Once I locate more snowflake embellishments I plan to make more for gifts and craft shows.

20161204_102213

The ornament I received in the exchange was a bunch of grapes also created from wine corks.  I have another new idea!  You can bet I’m now on the look out for purple glitter!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

