Girlie Girl’s Wreath

20161211_125140

It’s hard to believe it’s been nearly six years since I made an ornament wreath, but my original blog post below testifies to that fact:

Crafting with Capri – Ornament Wreaths

These wreaths are so much fun and the results are always stunning.

I created this wreath for especially my daughter.  She now has a home of her own and I had been planning to make her a wreath since she moved there.

My original plan was to do one in red and green holiday colors, but when I pulled out the stash of ornaments I had been collecting for some time now, I found a bunch of purple ones.  I also had inherited quite a number of silver ornaments my Mom no longer wanted.  It didn’t take me long to determine this new direction was the right way to go.  Purple is her favorite color and she has always preferred silver over gold.

She was in town this weekend for a big holiday event with friends and would be breezing in and out before leaving for home.  I only had a short time to get the wreath done and have it to surprise her as well as for her to be able to enjoy during the holiday season.  So I set to work.

I was so pleased that it went together effortlessly.  Not only did it have ornaments from her maternal grandmother, but the purple bead garland came from necklaces we all wore at her paternal grandmother’s memorial service.  The finished wreath had all the bling and sparkle that is so representative of my daughter.

I had it hanging on the door  waiting to surprise her when she came in. She was thrilled. While we were putting lunch together, she kept disappearing from the kitchen.  She would come back to tell me she had to go look at her wreath again.

With that statement, I’m not sure which one of us got the better Christmas present!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

