Wreath Redo

2016-12-13_03-45-02

Having created a wreath for my daughter, and having had all the remaining ornaments strewn all over my craft table, I was inspired to redo my own wreath.

My original wreath was a number of years old.  The base was a styrofoam ring and after many years of enjoyment, it had fallen into disrepair.  I had thought it would just be a matter of reattaching the ornaments that had come off and reinforcing the glue in places, but upon examination, it became clear it was time to start over.

I had hoped to salvage as many ornaments as I could, so I carefully disassembled it.  I soon found that the years and the hot glue had done a number on many of them.  I was able to salvage some, but others were a total loss.  Luckily I had plenty on hand so I was not lacking.

The new wreath base is an artificial pine wreath.  It was so much easier to work with than the original styrofoam.  I remember what a lengthy process it was to have to hold the ornaments in place until the glue cooled and solidified.  I also remember burning all my fingertips in the process.  The pine base was definitely a quicker and safer option.

I finished it up and hung it on the door right about the time my husband came in from work.  “Wow!  Could you fit any more ornaments on it?” was his reaction.

Playing along with him I told him, “Yes, I probably could,” but we both agreed that the wreath was perfect as it was.

There are still more ornaments on my table.  Hmm…  Could I run out to purchase another wreath base?  Should I?  It’s so tempting!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

