Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

20170414_234351

For me, it’s just not Easter without decorating eggs.  My kids are grown up.  My daughter has moved to her own house.  My son is in college, but even though he is home this weekend, he thinks he is just too grown up for decorating eggs.

I have a pretty big history experimenting with different decorating techniques.  Over the years we have tried natural dyes, Kool-aid, a rice technique and several others. Some were successful.  Others, not so much.

20170414_204708

At some point last year, I ran across this Tie Dye technique.  I’m really not sure where I first saw it because I neglected to make note of it.  I was excited to give it a try.  I gathered the materials:

  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Vinegar
  • Food coloring
  • Paper towels
  • Protective gloves

20170414_210823

I rolled and wrapped the eggs like candies in paper towels.  I secured the ends with twist ties.

20170414_211327

I poured the vinegar onto a plate and rolled the wrapped egg in the vinegar until the paper toweling was saturated.  The absorbent paper towels wicked up the vinegar quite nicely.

20170414_213559

Using only three colors per egg, I dropped food coloring straight from the bottles randomly onto the paper towel covered eggs.  Once I had enough color, I gently squeeze the egg to distribute the color more fully.

20170414_215603

You can see why protective gloves are a must for this project!

20170414_223702

I left the eggs sit for about an hour before unwrapping.  The colors were spectacular!  I have never been able to achieve such bright colors before!  The texture of the paper towel added a nice element to the finished eggs.

20170414_213611

With plans to make deviled eggs for Easter, I took my egg decorating a bit further.  I had also seen a technique where eggs were cracked all over and then dyed.  The dye would seep through the cracks and color the egg white.  Again, I do not recall where I first saw this idea but I knew I had to try it out.

20170414_215548

The process for coloring the cracked eggs was essentially the same.  The only difference was that I had to be extra careful when wrapping the cracked eggs.

20170414_223616

As before, the egg shells came out beautifully decorated.  But they hadn’t been emersed in a dye bath so I wasn’t sure if there would be enough color to seep through the cracks

20170416_083830

Well as you can see from the shelled eggs, there certainly was!

20170416_084316

I used my wave slicer to slice the eggs and removed the yolks.  Yes, I put them into a zip lock plastic bag.  This brilliant tip comes to me from my daughter!

20170416_084803 (2)

I closed the bag and then pressed and squeezed the yolks to crumble them up.

20170416_085233

The next step was to add all the ingredients for my favorite deviled egg recipe. This too comes from my daughter who found what we believe is the best deviled egg recipe ever from the Food Network.

Classic Deviled Eggs

  • 6 eggs, hard boiled
  • ¼ cup mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon yellow mustard
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Paprika for garnish

20170416_085423

I reclosed the bag and squished and squeezed until all the ingredients were mixed well. The last step was to snip off a corner of the plastic bag and pipe the egg mixture into the egg whites.  A sprinkle of paprika finished them off.

20170416_090018

Here they are all ready for our Easter picnic!  I love how festive they look!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

