After missing the November and December virtual scrapbooking events, I am happy to be back at it! I wasn’t as prepared as I had hoped to be so this month I worked with photos I had already printed. As you will see, some of the photos worked better with the layout maps than others, but I am happy with my results, especially the vintage pages.

Future months will be different in that hubby and I purchased a new color printer! So rather than trying to plan ahead, I will now have the option of printing photos as I go!

Challenge #1

The two photos of Brody sniffing out the bourbon worked perfectly with this layout. I did a Google search for the embellishments and printed out the label and bottle on our color printer. What is really funny about these photos is that once upon a time, Brody did not like the smell of bourbon!

Challenge #2

I had saved our viewing glasses from the 2017 Eclipse, so I used them to create the borders. Of course, I couldn’t resist posing the dogs wearing the glasses!

Challenge #3

I pretty much stuck with the layout of this one, but others in the group got very creative doing large candles, pencils, surf boards, and other items for the background. I wish I had thought of that! I still love this layout. I plan to incorporate the more creative ideas in future layouts. Those finished pages were just stunning.

Challenge #4

This is where I started to go rogue. I really do love this background and plan to follow the pattern more exactly with a future layout. Unfortunately, I did not have photos readily available that worked with it this time. I ended up turning it upside down and using a simpler background. The photo does not do the background paper justice. When I put these papers together, they worked so perfectly, it was a done deal for me.

Challenge #5

Creating a background/border using punched circles was so much fun. I really liked this effect and you will see I used a modified version in Challenge #6. It is so easy and creates a very nice effect.

Bonus Page

This page is very simple. A matted 8 x 10 photo does not allow much room for embellishment. This photo was with the other Navy photos and was begging for a page of its own. With this one, I felt less is more and that adding anything else would be too much.

Challenge #6

This is another vintage page where I took liberties with the layout and again following the idea of less is more. This page required more journaling than I usually do so that takes the place of the embellishments. I changed up the punched circle border idea and I am very pleased with how it turned out.

Leave a comment